Odyssey of the Mind World, bitches

This weekend was pretty awesome. I’m splitting it up into two posts because each topic varies so differently.

Here, I’ll talk about Saturday.
Yesterday was Michigan’s State Competition for Odyssey  of the Mind. For those who don’t know what OM is, you have a few months to write a skit that meets certain themes and criteria that costs under 120 dollars to produce, requiring a set, costumes, and props.

There are four divisions for OM, separated by age. Division 1 is grades K – 4, Division 2 is grades 5 – 8, Division 3 is grades 9 – 12, and Division 4 is College on. I’m in Division 3, and there are usually very few teams in our division. We were up against 3 other teams.

Our team took first place, which won us gold medals and a trophy. We’ll now advance to the World Competition held in at Maryland University, where teams from literally all over the world will be competing. We made it to World last year, and befriended a Japanese team. We’ll get to stay in the university dorms for 3 days, so that’ll be a good time.

I’ll write my second post tomorrow, so adios to all for now~

About AckTheSack

Follow the misadventures of a 15-year-old Ska kid as he stumbles through high school, love, and teh interwebz! /end sarcasm I'm another high school kid with unpopular and controversial political opinions, an unhealthy obsession with video-games, and an immense love for Ska music. I want to be a writer someday, so I figure that sharing my idiotic thoughts with the world might be good practice for that. I'd love any subscriptions, and I'll try to make sure I post daily.
This entry was posted in Odyssey of the Mind, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Odyssey of the Mind World, bitches

  1. agaaquino29 says:

    Hey there Alec!
    I was just reading some of your posts here on your blog and I think you’re doing a great job. I’m a writer who specializes in human experience so I am really interested in reading blogs like yours. Its where I get inspiration for my works or where I learn stuff, because I believe everybody has something to teach.

    Anyway, I’ll keep posted to your blog and I hope to read more of your work.

Leave a Reply

