Another day in a boring town.

So, nothing really all that new today. Model Congress went fine, we’ll see if my Bill is passed.

But, as some might notice, the title of this post is a line from History Of A Boring Town by Less Than Jake. LTJ is easily one of my favorite bands, and the best show I’ve ever seen live.
I saw them about a month or two ago, and the show was truly amazing. The show had 2 opening acts, and to be honest, each act could have done their own solo show. The first act was Off With Their Heads, a great punk band. They sounded a bit like old Green Day to me, but also had a great sound of their own. I’ve been meaning to finally buy a few of their albums.
The next band was The Supervillains, a ska band. They sounded a bit like Sublime, a bit like Catch 22, but also had their own sound as well. They were a blast, the band was just really fun, and had some really good songs.
I missed a bit of the act because I was vomiting, but that’s a minor detail.

The final act was of course Less Than Jake. I was at the show with my best friend, Kelan, and we both flipped shit when Chris (singer/guitarist) and Roger (bassist/backing vocals) came onstage.
The show was amazing, to say the least. Almost all bands sound awful nowadays, but LTJ manages to sound better live than they do on their albums. It was really refreshing to still see people skanking at a show, and every song was phenomenal.
Anytime the band played a song off of Hello Rockview, the whole crowd would go fucking insane, myself included.  There was a circle-pit when they played Last One Out Of Liberty City as always, which lasted into the next song, Help Save The Youth Of America From Exploding.
Look What Happened was a shining moment of the show, and even though the song isn’t LTJ’s usual ska/punk style, I love it with a burning passion.

Even though Kelan and I were both cursed with huge M’s written in Sharpie on our hands by the staff (for ‘minor’), we each managed to pick up girls who must not have seen the M’s on our hands, because they all seemed to have had their fare share of alcohol.

Overall, ska concerts > Any other shows. I’ve seen one emo band in concert (Hawthorne Heights) and it was the shittiest crowd I’ve ever seen in my life. Band was decent, but Jesus did the crowd suck.

Overall, the show was downright amazing, and I can’t wait to see Less Than Jake again someday. This will might be the first of many ska-related posts, so a few subscriptions from some fellow skafags would be much appreciated.

Less Than Jake - Hello Rockview

About AckTheSack

Follow the misadventures of a 15-year-old Ska kid as he stumbles through high school, love, and teh interwebz! /end sarcasm I'm another high school kid with unpopular and controversial political opinions, an unhealthy obsession with video-games, and an immense love for Ska music. I want to be a writer someday, so I figure that sharing my idiotic thoughts with the world might be good practice for that. I'd love any subscriptions, and I'll try to make sure I post daily.
This entry was posted in Concerts, Music, Punk, Ska and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

